Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-25 - 8:25 p.m.

So, here I go...off and running...
Most of you know that I secretly desire my own talk show, even a radio show would work for me most days. Simply a place where I can make my voice heard, share my opinions, tell funny stories, brag about my child, etc, etc. Since, it looks as though that is not in my near future plans, this is the next best thing for me. An online journal, a place to be witty and clever, or sad and serious, or both at the very same time...depending on who is reading! Anyhow, I am been inspired to do this by a few different people....two mothers with sick children who write with such eloquence and grace, I admire you. One new friend I have made, on whose diary I have become addicted...you know who you are!:) Needless to say, I aim to be like all three of you and fear I will often fall far short!
So, with all of that said, I have decided to make my first entry about bubbles. A whole diary entry on bubbles you ask, how is that possible, well you shall see. As it turns out, there is a conspiracy regarding bubbles out there. I only just discovered this while attempting to purchase a large bottle of bubble solution and large bubble wands for my friend Kaitlyn's 2nd birthday party. I started out at my favorite store, Party City. It was the first time I had been to the new and improved larger location, so I was expecting big things. I wandered around for a while simply to "take it all in". I found lots of party favor sized bottles of bubbles. Nice, cute, fun for the kids, but not what I needed for the Sponge Bob Magic Bubble Stand. At this point I came across a store employee, so I asked him where I could find the large bubble solution and large wands. He then informed me that they do not carry such items, as summer is over. What? I looked around in disbelief, and began to realize that perhaps (even in the larger location), Party City does not have room for such things as they are busy preparing for Halloween (still a month away, I know). So, it was on to Target for me...I knew they would not let me down...not my trusty Target. I looked and looked throughout the store, calling for the large bottle of bubble solution and large bubble wands, but there was no answer. I found a red-vested employee and asked him. He looked at me sadly (almost in a pitying way) and told me that they only have those products in the summer. Who knew. Apparently, Labor Day is the cutoff for white shoes AND bubble fun! Now, maybe I would understand if I lived in Anchorage, Alaska, and already had to two feet of snow on my back porch, but I am in Charlotte, NC...where the temperature of 80 degrees today certainly said summer to me! The moral of this story is, if you have a child with a birthday falling in any months other than May-August, forget about bubble games at your party...no siree bob, they will just have to make do with pin the tail on the donkey and Simon Says.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com